Thursday, July 18, 2024

Recorder Media Group opens nominations for 2025 Champions of Diversity Awards

Nominations for the 2025 Champions of Diversity Awards are officially open. 

Presented by the Minority Business Review and Indiana Minority Business Magazine, the 2025 Champions of Diversity Awards dinner is an opportunity to recognize individuals, businesses, and non-profit organizations throughout Indiana and nationally who amplify the tenants of diversity and equity. The 18th annual awards dinner will take place Jan. 17, 2025.

“Last year, we expanded the Champions of Diversity Awards nationally which resulted in greater visibility for our company and award recipients. As we approach the 18th annual awards, it means a great deal to me personally to continue the tradition,” Robert Shegog, president and CEO of Recorder Media Group, said in a statement. “It is inspiring to witness the positive impact these awards have on organizations and the broader community. Continuing the awards demonstrates Recorder Media Group’s longstanding dedication to highlighting and honoring the efforts of those actively working to create diverse and inclusive environments.”

Champions of Diversity Award winners will be celebrated alongside six additional award winners who will receive the following: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Award, Rosa Parks Trailblazer Award, William G. Mays Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award, Lifetime Education Advocate Award, President’s Choice Award, and the Amos Brown Community Advocate Award.

Champions of Diversity have highlighted dozens of diverse leaders and advocates over the past 18 years and will continue to recognize the hard work and dedication to diversity people display in the city. Previous Champions of Diversity Award winners include Carolene Mays, founder and president of Black Leadership & Legacies; Deon Livingston, regional vice president of Radio ONE; Sue Ellspermann, former Lieutenant Governor of Indiana; Winne Bulaya, founder of Refugee Welcome Basket; Delta Air Lines; Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Meticulous Design + Architecture; Mario Rodriguez, CEO of Indianapolis Airport Authority; The Oaks Academy; Vera Bradley; The Mind Trust; Dr. Eugene White, president emeritus of Martin University; and many more.

Nominations for the 2025 Champions of Diversity Awards will be accepted through Sept. 16 and are open to anyone regardless of race, discipline, industry or background. Third-party nominations and self-applications are both welcomed. 

The Annual Champions of Diversity Awards Dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 17, 2025, at the JW Marriott Indianapolis, 10 W. St. The dinner will be preceded by a networking reception at 5:30 p.m.

The event will conclude at approximately 8:30 p.m. For more information, visit or contact

Related Articles

Follow Us

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Translate »
Skip to content